A warrior fires on U.S. troops during the Scott 1817 Seminole War Battle at Chattahoochee.

The 2018 version of the annual Scott 1817 Seminole War Battle reenactment and living history event is set for November 30 – December 2!

The annual event takes place at River Landing Park in Chattahoochee, Florida – with an additional event in Bainbridge, Georgia – and commemorates the 1817 attack on Lt. Richard W. Scott’s command by Seminole, Red Stick Creek, Black Seminole, Miccouskee and Yuchi warriors. The battle was the first U.S. defeat of the Seminole Wars.

This year’s event will grow from last year’s with TWO planned battles, musket and cannon firing demonstrations, an expanded School Day for students from throughout the region and a luminary service at River Landing Park. There will also be a mobile museum, exhibits, vendors and a food court.

Soldiers from the 7th U.S. Living History Association fight during the Scott 1817 Seminole War Battle at Chattahoochee, Florida.

Activities will begin on Thursday, November 29, at the J.D. Chason Memorial Park in Bainbridge with a memorial service honoring those killed on both sides during the Battle of Fowltown.

The event at River Landing Park in Chattahoochee then begins at 9 a.m. on Friday, November 30, and continues through Sunday afternoon.  Here is this year’s preliminary schedule of events. The public is encouraged to come out for all of these!

Thursday, November 29, 2018

Time:          5:30 p.m. Eastern/4:30 p.m. Central

Location:   J.D. Chason Memorial Park, intersection of Jackson & Donalson Streets, Bainbridge, Georgia.

Event:        Battle of Fowltown Memorial Service & Luminaries

Luminaries at a 2017 memorial service honor those killed in the battle.

Friday, November 30, 2018

(All events on Friday-Sunday will be at River Landing Park, 500 N. River Landing Rd., Chattahoochee, Florida)

9:00 a.m. – 3 p.m. EST                    School Day (Living History education day for area students).

5:30 p.m. EST/4:30 p.m. CST       Scott 1817 Seminole War Battle Memorial Service & Luminary

Saturday, December 1, 2018

9:00 a.m. EST/8:00 a.m. CST       Gates open to the public*

10:00 a.m. EST/9:00 a.m. CST     Musket Firing Demonstration

11:00 a.m. EST/10:00 a.m. CST    Cannon Firing Demonstration

12:00 noon EST/11:00 a.m. CST   Seminole/Creek Ball Game

1:30 p.m. EST/12:30 p.m. CST      Forces march to the Riverfront Battlefield

2:00 p.m. EST/1:00 p.m. CST        2018 REENACTMENT OF THE SCOTT 1817 SEMINOLE WAR BATTLE

3:00 p.m. EST/2:00 p.m. CST       Public Events end for Saturday

Antonio Wright portrays Abraham, who may have taken part in the attack on Scott’s party.

Sunday, December 2, 2018

9:00 a.m. EST/8:00 a.m. CST       Gates open to the public*

10:00 a.m. EST/9:00 a.m. CST     Frontier Church Service

11:00 a.m. EST/10:00 a.m CST     Musket Firing Demonstration

12:00 noon EST/11:00 a.m. CST  Cannon Firing Demonstration

1:00 p.m. EST/12:00 noon CST   Forces march to Woods Battlefield

1:30 p.m. EST/12:30 p.m. CST     2018 REENACTMENT OF THE BATTLE OF FOWLTOWN

3:00 p.m. EST/2:00 p.m. CST     Public Events end for Sunday.

*Living history encampments, hatchet-throwing, ballgames, mobile museum, keelboat Aux Arc, exhibit area, vendor areas, food court & more all open to the public.

For more information, please visit https://scott1817.com. This 60-second video will give you a quick preview of what to expect: